The Mystery Blogger Award

Goodness, this has been sitting in my Drafts box for a while…. (*blushes*)

So Jessica @¬†Elldimensional graciously nominated me for the Mystery Blogger Award back in January. It’s taken me a while, and for various reasons, but I’ve finally made time to accept and answer her questions. Thank you, Jessica! ūüôā And since I haven’t done an award or blog tag in some time, this should be a fun change of pace.

Some quick details about the Mystery Blogger Award, as described by¬†its creator Okoto Enigma: “The Mystery Blogger Award is an award for amazing bloggers with ingenious posts. Their blog not only captivates; it inspires and motivates. They are one of the best out there, and they deserve every recognition they get. This award is¬†also for bloggers who find fun and inspiration in blogging; and they do it with so much love and passion.”

I’ll save the guidelines for the end of the post.¬†Let’s get to the good stuff first. ūüėČ

Continue reading

The Freestyle Writing Challenge, Part 2

Freestyle Writing Challenge Pt 2 banner

Last year I tackled the Freestyle Writing Challenge for the first time. It was a fun way of writing about whatever I wanted (within the topic chosen by the blogger who nominated me, of course) and seeing how many words I could type in a short amount of time. Today, I’m *finally* accepting Sarah J. Higbee’s nomination to take on¬†the Challenge again. Thanks, Sarah!

Here are the rules for the Freestyle Writing Challenge:

  1. Open an new Microsoft Word document.
  2. Set a stop watch or timer for 5 or 10 minutes, whichever challenge you think you can beat.
  3. You topic is at the end of this post, but DO NOT SCROLL DOWN TO SEE IT UNTIL YOU ARE READY WITH A TIMER.
  4. Fill the Word document with as many words as you can. Once you begin writing, do not stop.
  5. Do not cheat by going back and correcting spellings and grammar with spell check in Word. This Challenge is only meant for you to reflect on your own control of sensible thought flow, not your ability to write the right spelling and stick to grammar rules.
  6. You may or may not pay attention to punctuation and capitals. However, if you do, it would be best.
  7. At the end of your post, write down ‚ÄėNo. of words =_____‚Äô so that readers¬†have an idea of how much you can write within the timeframe.
  8. Copy and paste the entire passage on your blog post with a new topic for your nominees, and include these rules with your nominations (at least 5 bloggers).

So, Sarah’s topic for her nominees this time was… Continue reading

The Six-Question Character Challenge

Six-Question banner

I’ve fallen behind on blog tags again, so¬†it’s time to play¬†catch-up (again). This tag is a brand new one from¬†Brianna daSilva at Story Port. (Thank you, Brianna!)

The¬†Six-Question Character Challenge¬†offers six questions that you have to answer for three of your WIP’s characters. You can choose whichever characters you want. The¬†point is to introduce these characters to your readers if you haven’t yet, and to see how they’re similar or different.

Before we get started, let’s start with… Continue reading

The Starlight Blogger Award

This Award is created to highlight and promote Inspiring Bloggers.

Yup. I’m still catching up with blog tags and awards that I was linked on over the past few months. Today’s comes courtesy of Zezee @¬†Zezee with Books, and is one I hadn’t heard of before this nomination.¬†The Starlight Blogger Award was created by Caroline @¬†Yesterday After to celebrate bloggers who inspire us with their creativity. So, thank you very much, Zezee, for your nomination. It means a lot to me. ūüôā

Here are the rules for the Starlight Blogger Award: Continue reading

The Author’s Oracle Writing Tag

Author Oracle Tag banner

I spotted this tag at Faith Rivens’ blog not too long ago and absolutely¬†knew¬†I wanted to do it, too. It’s inspired by the Major Arcana, the first 22 cards in a tarot or oracle card deck.

Now, I’m aware that not everyone believes in the accuracy in tarot or other divination tools. But being a believer isn’t necessary here. The following questions take each card’s themes and applies them to your WIP or your writing process. So, this is¬†a more “inclusive” tag than you might think. ūüėČ

Any story-specific questions in this tag will focus on my WIP,¬†The Keeper’s Curse. To learn more about this novel, you can either¬†read the current draft of its blurb¬† or¬†visit the Chronicling The Craft series. Continue reading

The One Lovely Blog Award

One Lovely Blog image-2

Leona Henry @ Leona’s Blog of Shadows nominated me for the One Lovely Blog Award a while back. (Thank you, Leona – and sorry it took so long!) Leona is a Turkish-born fantasy writer who now lives in Finland and is preparing to publish her debut¬†novel series,¬†The Coin of Liberius, via Reamwalker Publishing Group. If you like dark epic fantasy in the vein of George R.R. Martin and R. Scott Bakker, then keep an eye out for Leona’s upcoming works. ūüėČ

Here are the rules for the One Lovely Blog Award:

  1. Thank the person who nominated you. (Check!)
  2. List the rules and display the award. (Check!)
  3. List 7 facts about yourself.
  4. Nominate 15 others bloggers and notify them of their nomination.

So, let’s see what facts I can share with you today that I haven’t shared here yet. ūüėČ Continue reading

The Book Courtship Tag

Book Courtship banner 2

I haven’t done a strictly bookish tag in a while. So when I saw this adorable Book Courtship Tag at Ayunda’s Tea and Paperbacks a couple weeks ago, I knew I wanted to squeeze this in before Valentine’s Day. ūüôā

The¬†Book Courtship Tag “follows” the different stages of courtship and challenges bloggers to pick one book that fits each stage. These picks¬†don’t have to be romances. In fact, they can be anything you choose from your bookshelves. So, let’s see what I picked…

Continue reading

The Liebster Award 4.0

Liebster No 4

Back in September (which seems like forever ago now), Rona at Tea with Polly was kind enough to nominate me for my fourth Liebster Award. (Thank you, Rona!) It’s taken me a while to get to it because of the holiday craziness offline¬†and the end-of-year posts I wanted to get out. But now, I finally have time to start catching up on awards again. (Yes, I still have others to do. It’s a little¬†embarrassing…)

Btw, if you’re a fellow tea lover, I highly recommend you follow Tea with Polly. I’ve been part of Rona’s readership for a while, and have¬†found some delectable-sounding teas and herbal tisanes I want to try as a result. ūüėČ

Here are the rules for this round of the Liebster Award:

  1. Link back to the person who nominated you.
  2. Answer the questions given to you by the nominator.
  3. Nominate up to 11 other bloggers.
  4. Create 11 questions for the nominees.
  5. Notify all nominees via social media and/or their blogs.

Let’s get started, shall we?

Continue reading