The Mystery Blogger Award

Goodness, this has been sitting in my Drafts box for a while…. (*blushes*)

So Jessica @ Elldimensional graciously nominated me for the Mystery Blogger Award back in January. It’s taken me a while, and for various reasons, but I’ve finally made time to accept and answer her questions. Thank you, Jessica! 🙂 And since I haven’t done an award or blog tag in some time, this should be a fun change of pace.

Some quick details about the Mystery Blogger Award, as described by its creator Okoto Enigma: “The Mystery Blogger Award is an award for amazing bloggers with ingenious posts. Their blog not only captivates; it inspires and motivates. They are one of the best out there, and they deserve every recognition they get. This award is also for bloggers who find fun and inspiration in blogging; and they do it with so much love and passion.”

I’ll save the guidelines for the end of the post. Let’s get to the good stuff first. 😉

Continue reading

The Starlight Blogger Award

This Award is created to highlight and promote Inspiring Bloggers.

Yup. I’m still catching up with blog tags and awards that I was linked on over the past few months. Today’s comes courtesy of Zezee @ Zezee with Books, and is one I hadn’t heard of before this nomination. The Starlight Blogger Award was created by Caroline @ Yesterday After to celebrate bloggers who inspire us with their creativity. So, thank you very much, Zezee, for your nomination. It means a lot to me. 🙂

Here are the rules for the Starlight Blogger Award: Continue reading

The One Lovely Blog Award

One Lovely Blog image-2

Leona Henry @ Leona’s Blog of Shadows nominated me for the One Lovely Blog Award a while back. (Thank you, Leona – and sorry it took so long!) Leona is a Turkish-born fantasy writer who now lives in Finland and is preparing to publish her debut novel series, The Coin of Liberius, via Reamwalker Publishing Group. If you like dark epic fantasy in the vein of George R.R. Martin and R. Scott Bakker, then keep an eye out for Leona’s upcoming works. 😉

Here are the rules for the One Lovely Blog Award:

  1. Thank the person who nominated you. (Check!)
  2. List the rules and display the award. (Check!)
  3. List 7 facts about yourself.
  4. Nominate 15 others bloggers and notify them of their nomination.

So, let’s see what facts I can share with you today that I haven’t shared here yet. 😉 Continue reading

The Liebster Award 4.0

Liebster No 4

Back in September (which seems like forever ago now), Rona at Tea with Polly was kind enough to nominate me for my fourth Liebster Award. (Thank you, Rona!) It’s taken me a while to get to it because of the holiday craziness offline and the end-of-year posts I wanted to get out. But now, I finally have time to start catching up on awards again. (Yes, I still have others to do. It’s a little embarrassing…)

Btw, if you’re a fellow tea lover, I highly recommend you follow Tea with Polly. I’ve been part of Rona’s readership for a while, and have found some delectable-sounding teas and herbal tisanes I want to try as a result. 😉

Here are the rules for this round of the Liebster Award:

  1. Link back to the person who nominated you.
  2. Answer the questions given to you by the nominator.
  3. Nominate up to 11 other bloggers.
  4. Create 11 questions for the nominees.
  5. Notify all nominees via social media and/or their blogs.

Let’s get started, shall we?

Continue reading

5 on the 5th: Five Bookish Christmas Gift Ideas for Writers (+ The Creative Blogger Award)

5 on the 5th Banner 2

On the fifth day of each month, 5 on the 5th shares five of something that I like or recommend to readers. Whether it’s five items that share a common theme, or five reasons why I like the topic at hand, this monthly meme gives us an opportunity to talk about other subjects that aren’t normally discussed here at the blog. 

I still have some catching up to do in the Blog Awards Department. So, for this month’s 5 on the 5th, I’m combining it with *finally* accepting Elizabeth Rawls’ nomination for the Creative Blogger Award. Thank you again, E., and I’m sorry it’s taken so long for me to get to this!

creative-blogger-award

Here are the rules for the Creative Blogger Award:

  1. Thank the blogger who nominated you and post the link of said blog.
  2. Share five facts about yourself to your readers.
  3. Nominate 15 to 20 blogs and notify all nominees via their social media or blogs.

As you can probably tell from the title of this post, I’ve put a “creative” spin on accepting this award. 😉 Instead of five random facts, I’m recommending five books on the craft of writing. And with Christmas and other gift-giving holidays around the corner, there’s no better time to find new reference books for the writer in your life – or for yourself!

Btw, the following books are for all writers. I may do a separate 5 on the 5th in the future specifically on reference / craft books for speculative fiction writers.

Continue reading

The Infinity Dreams Award

infinitydreamsaward
It’s award time again! (Yes, I’ve still got more after this one, so I’ll be catching up for a while.) This one comes from Victoria Grace Howell at Stori Tori’s Blog. She’s a fellow speculative fiction writer (currently working on a YA steampunk Red Riding Hood retelling and a YA dystopian sci-fi) who’s also a tea lover and Lord Of The Rings fanatic. If you don’t follow her blog yet, now is a great time to start. Thank you, Tori!

Here are the rules for the Infinity Dreams Award:

  1. Thank and follow the blog that nominated you.
  2. Tell us eleven facts about yourself.
  3. Answer the questions that were set for you to answer.
  4. Nominate 11 bloggers and set questions for them.

With all these fact-centric tags lately, I’m afraid I’m going to run of ideas for random facts soon! But I think I’ve got a few more I haven’t shared with you yet. 😉

(Last reminder for the thank-you giveaways! Click here to learn how you can win free tea, a free book, or a critique of your WIP’s first chapter. Hurry, though – the giveaways end at midnight EST on October 31st!)

Continue reading

Must-Read Blog Award: Sara Letourneau

What a lovely surprise to find first thing this morning! 😀 Fellow fantasy writer and blogger Alex Hurst has been running the Must-Read Blog Award for the past few months. Her choices so far have been fascinating; and her own blog is a wealth of creativity, from posts about her experiences living in Japan to in-depth studies on Jungian archetypes in literature.

Thank you again, Alex, for this honor. 🙂

Dragon’s Loyalty Award

dragonaward

Yes, I’m still in the midst of catching up with blog awards from over the summer. But this next one is very, very cool. Why? Because it involves DRAGONS. 😀

The Dragon’s Loyalty Award comes courtesy of Sarah J. Higbee, a fellow speculative fiction writing who lives in the UK. Sarah’s currently putting the finishing touches on her debut novel Running Out of Space, the first installment of a self-published space opera trilogy. If you haven’t checked out her blog, now’s a great time so you can stay on top of any updates regarding Running Out of Space. Plus, Sarah reviews books and shares her poetry and other personal bits there. 🙂

Here are the rules for accepting the Dragon’s Loyalty Award:

  1. Announce your win with a post, and link to whomever presented your award.
  2. Post 7 interesting things about yourself.
  3. Present 15 awards to deserving bloggers.
  4. Drop them a comment to tip them off after you’ve linked them in the post.
  5. Display the award certificate on your website.

Since #1 is all set now, it’s time for #2, and seven random facts about myself.

Continue reading

The Premio Dardos Award

I’m still in the process of catching up with several blog tags and awards that came my way over the summer. Today it’s the Premio Dardos Award, courtesy of Zezee With Books. (Thank you, Zezee!)

The Premio Dardos Award was brand new to me when Zezee nominated me back in July. And unlike most blog awards, it’s not given strictly out of goodwill or friendship. Instead, it recognizes bloggers for creative and original writing influenced by cultural, ethical, literary, and personal values. A very meaningful award, in other words; and I’m humbled and honored that someone would consider the work I do here to be worthy of this kind of recognition. 🙂

Here are the rules for the Premio Dardos Award, along with the graphic: Continue reading

Another Liebster Award!

liebster-award 3

Still combing through the blog tags and awards I was recently nominated for, and today it’s Liebster Award time. Thank you for the nomination, Phoenix Grey! 🙂

Here are the rules for this version of the Liebster Award:

  1. Once you are nominated, make a post that thanks the person who nominated you and links back to their article.
  2. Include the Liebster Award sticker in your post.
  3. Nominate 7 to 10 other bloggers who you feel are worthy of this award. Let them know they have been nominated by commenting on one of their posts. You can also nominate the person who nominated you.
  4. Answer the 10 questions asked to you by the person who nominated you.
  5. Make 10 questions of your own for your nominees.
  6. Lastly, copy these rules in the post.
  7. All of the nominees are free to accept or reject the nomination.

So, Rules #1, 2, and 6 are done already. (I hope it’s OK that I’m skipping around…?) Now let’s go on to Phoenix’s questions!

Continue reading